Archive

Archive for August 26, 2011

Until Next Time…

August 26, 2011 1 comment

At this time in 1971, I was getting ready to start my freshman year as a journalism major at Saint Bonaventure University. Forty years later, I find myself returning to Saint Bonaventure, about to begin a new chapter in my career as a member of the school’s journalism and mass communication faculty.

It makes for a nice story with a lot of symmetry. Not only is Saint Bonaventure my alma mater; it is the place where I met my wife, made some of my closest and lifelong friends, and acquired skills and values that helped to shape me professionally and personally.

But I am not returning to Saint Bonaventure for nostalgia. I’m heading back Richard Lee Office Sign to the university near Olean, N.Y., because I am passionate about journalism and the critical role it plays in our society.

Journalism in America is at a critical juncture today. The internet has Read more…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.